Skip to content


With annual grape production of almost 300,000 tonnes in 2006, the Riverina is the largest wine producer in New South Wales (60% of production) with wineries and vineyards spreading covering an area of over 15,000 hectares.

Viticultural is based around the City of Griffith and town of Leeton which lies at latitude 34oS and longitude 146oW and at an elevation of 136m.  Elevation ranges from 221m in the East at Wagga Wagga to 94m at Hay to the west. The region stretches 350k east-west and 270k north-south.

The wine history of the Riverina began in 1912 when the first waters flowed along those canals and JJ McWilliam planted 35,000 vine cuttings at Hanwood. Italian migrants were attracted to the region after the first and second world wars and brought viticultural expertise along with other important agricultural interests.

Today there are more than a dozen wineries based in the region including De Bortoli, McWilliams and Casella.

Percentage of NSW Wine Production
Percentage of NSW Vineyards